Robin Hayward

Also known as Hayward, R.Hayward

Profile of the performer Robin Hayward: Robin Hayward (1969, Brighton, England) is a British tuba player and composer.

Hayward studied tuba and composition at the Royal Northern College of Music and at the University of Manchester, England. His involvement in contemporary music started when he attended a course in 1989 with [a=Giancarlo Schiaffini] and [a=Luigi Nono].

In 1993 he attended a workshop lead by [a=Barry Guy], which led to him joining the London Jazz Composers' Orchestra, where he played alongside many key figures in English improvised music. In 1994 he toured England with [a=Anthony Braxton] and the Creative Jazz Orchestra. From 1994 to 1997 he was an active member of London’s improvised music scene, as part of a quartet with [a=John Butcher], [a=Marcio Mattos] and [a=Phil Durrant–, and in duos with [a=John Edwards] and [a=Steve Beresford]. In 1997 he toured England with the [a=Butch Morris] Conduction London Skyscraper. In the same year he also formed the trio rar with [a=Axel Dörner] and [a=Radu Malfatti].

Through composing the solo tuba piece Sink for the London Musicians’ Collective Fifth Annual Festival of Experimental Music in 1996, he discovered the technique of rotating the tuba's valves, altering their conventional role from one of altering pitch to one of producing noise. His first notated composition to utilize this technique was Vier Tuben Rauschen, written in 1997 for Melvyn Poore’s English Tuba Consort. It was also the first to specify the tubas be placed horizontally, with the bells facing towards the audience, that has since become his trademark playing position on the English Eb tuba.

Robin Hayward moved to Berlin in 1998, where, in such groups as Das Kreisen, with [a=Burkhard Beins] and [a=Annette Krebs], and roananax, with [a=Andrea Neumann], Axel Dörner and Annette Krebs, he played a key role in the development of a style of improvisation characterized by long silences, reduced dynamics and restrained use of noise that has since been labeled Berlin Reductionism. Following these initial projects came the septet Phosphor, with Burkhard Beins, Annette Krebs, Andrea Neumann, Ignaz Schick, Michael Renkel and Axel Dörner, to be joined a year later by Alessandro Bosetti.

In 2002 he joined the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin and was also active in Plainsound Orchestra, founded by Marc Sabat, which marked the beginning a further approach to the tuba. Robin Hayward is currently doing a doctorate on the acoustics of this microtonal tuba at Berliner Technische Universität.

So in the Web you may find Robin Hayward on the Web by this links:
Video clips of Robin Hayward:

Watch now Robin Hayward's video clips! Click right here:

Full discography of Robin Hayward:

Choose albums of full discography of Robin Hayward

Click to title of release (album or single) to check out the track list of the release
Select page:
# Release cover Release title Tracks amount Download release in mp3? Official release date Label of release
1 Robin Hayward - Amber Amber 2 mp3 Download release MP3 Amber 2005 Creative Sources
2 Robin Hayward - Axel Dörner / Robin Hayward Axel Dörner / Robin Hayward 4 mp3 Download release MP3 Axel Dörner / Robin Hayward 2004-11-19 absinthRecords
3 Kammerlärm 2 mp3 Download release MP3 Kammerlärm 2007 Azul Discográfica
4 Robin Hayward - Valved Strings Calculator Valved Strings Calculator 4 mp3 Download release MP3 Valved Strings Calculator 2009-03-00 Hibari Music
5 Robin Hayward - Nella Basilica Nella Basilica 5 mp3 Download release MP3 Nella Basilica 2010-07-00 Another Timbre
6 Microtub 3 mp3 Download release MP3 Microtub 2011-09-16 Sofa
7 States Of Rushing 7 mp3 Download release MP3 States Of Rushing 2009 Choose Records
8 Robin Hayward - States Of Rushing States Of Rushing 7 mp3 Download release MP3 States Of Rushing 2009-12-00 Choose Records
9 Robin Hayward - Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse 3 mp3 Download release MP3 Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse 2014-04-07 Pogus Productions
Select page:

Please leave your comment about Robin Hayward here:

Artist list All albums list All styles list
(C) 2014-2020 Copyrights are reserved by their owners.
The page does not contains any audio, text, video media material, protected by copyright law and does not contains any illegal MP3 content. If you want to get acquainted with the music, buy from authorized distributors. Play online without registration Robin Hayward all albums in mp3 download a single file or separately.
Caution! All audio materials of Robin Hayward are presented solely for information. After listening to the trial version, you must remove the file mp3 or buy the product from an authorized supplier.